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Driver Education National Standards.

Coordination with Driver Licensing

5.1.1 Each State should have a formal system for communication and collaboration between the State driver education and training agency and the State driver licensing authority.  This system should allow sharing of information between driver education and training program/course administrators and the State’s driver licensing authority.
Oregon’s response:
Currently, ODOT-TSD has the Student Data Entry System (SDES) that interfaces with the Department of Motor Vehicles database for specific “edit checks” on student entry

ODOT-DMV provides a liaison to the Driver Education Advisory Committee.  The liaison is a one person point of contact for representatives from the driver education community and TSD’s Driver Education Program. The liaison is responsible for communicating issues or concerns to the various DMV programs and following through for resolution. The liaison attends the committee meetings to provide information about the provisional licensing program, laws and administrative rules, as they are related to driver education.

5.1.2 Each State should have a GDL system that includes, incorporates, or integrates driver education and training.  Completion of the driver education and training should not reduce the time requirements in the GDL process.

Oregon’s response:
Completion of driver education does not reduce the amount of time an applicant must hold an instruction permit before applying for a provisional license or the passenger and night driving restrictions after issuance of the provisional license in the GDL process. However if a student chooses not to take Driver Education, they must certify an additional 50 hours of supervised driving before they can get a provisional driver license.
5.1.3 Each State should provide information and education on novice teen driving requirements and restrictions to judges, courts, and law enforcement officials charged with adjudicating or enforcing GDL laws.

Oregon’s response:
DMV provides the content and TSD publishes and distributes the Judicial Court Desk Reference Manual for the Teen Driver Program. The manual is distributed to various law enforcement.. It explains all aspects of Oregon's Provisional Licensing Program including Graduated Driver Licensing, Implied Consent and DUI (Under 21 Year of Age), Minor in Possession, and the Provisional Driver Improvement Program.  It is a comprehensive outline of Oregon's teen driving requirements, the repercussions of non-compliance, options available to the driver after a conviction and all related Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rules. It includes information for the courts on which forms to complete, how to complete them and how to submit them properly and in the correct time-frame. It includes copies of forms and a DMV contact list.

 

DMV representatives attend the yearly Oregon Judicial Education Conference.  The representative answers questions and provides information about new legislation and hot topics.  The conference is open to Oregon Justice, Municipal and Circuit Court Judges as well as Court Administrators.
5.1.4 Each State should ensure that sanctions for noncompliance with GDL requirements by novice teen drivers are developed and enforced uniformly.
Oregon’s response:
DMV has a Provisional Driver Improvement Program that targets drivers 14-17 years of age.  It is fashioned after the Adult Driver Improvement Program, but is designed to have a quick and immediate impact on young drivers who are convicted of traffic offenses or involved in preventable accidents.  Convictions for operating a vehicle in violation of Oregon's GDL laws apply to the administration of the Provisional Driver Improvement Program as do most convictions.  The program starts with restrictions for two convictions or preventable accidents (or combination) and proceeds to a six month suspension for each additional conviction or preventable accident.  DMV's system automatically determines what type of driver improvement action to take when an accident or conviction is posted to a driver under 18 years of age.

5.1.5 Each State should require a parent to submit State-specified documentation that certifies completion of required supervised hours in a manner that reduces the possibility of fraudulent entries.

Oregon’s response:
Both the parent and the provisional driver sign a certification on the license application stating that they complied with the supervised driving requirements.  If they mark that they completed 50 hrs and a driver education course, they must present a driver education completion certificate.  DMV does not look at or validate driving logs.

5.1.6 Each State should ensure that State licensing tests are empirically based and reflect performance competencies of the standards-based driver education and training program outlined in the previous sections of this document.

Oregon’s response:
ODOT – TSD and the DMV meet to guarantee that testing standards are as close to the driver education training as current departmental policies will allow.

5.1.7 Each State should develop and implement a valid and reliable driver’s knowledge and skills test that assesses the factors associated with the novice teen driver’s ability to reduce driving risks.

Oregon’s response:
Since 1989, Oregon DMV's provisional licensing program has included an additional knowledge test, Safe Driving Practices, for license applicants under 18 years of age.  It tests for knowledge and understanding of safe driving practices and principles gained through driving experience.  This test is required in addition to the standard knowledge test for a driver license that all applicants must pass.

 

Oregon DMV uses the same drive test for adult and provisional driver license applicants.  There is collaboration with the Driver Education Advisory Committee to identify and resolve discrepancies in the Driver Education training and DMV testing.
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