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State 
Type of 

Helmet Use 
Law1 

Helmet Use Requirements Sanctions for Failure to Use a Helmet 
1st Offense 2 Is Eye 

Protection 
Required? 

Passenger 
Restrictions Meets 

FMVSS 2183 Age Range Exemptions Fine Points Jail 

Alabama Universal No All Persons riding in enclosed 
cabs 

Not more than 
$100 

Not 
specified4 

Not more 
than 10 

days 
No None specified 

Alaska Age-specific Included Younger than 18 None Not more than 
$300 

Not 
specified None 

Yes unless 
windscreen/ 
windshield 

None specified 

Arizona Age-specific No 
 

Younger than 18 
 

 
None 

 

Not more than 
$250 

Not 
specified None Yes unless 

windshield None specified 

Arkansas Age-specific No Younger than 21 None $10-$50 Not 
specified 

Not more 
than 30 

days 
Yes 

A child must be 
at least 8 yrs 

(unless 
motorcycle is 

participating in a 
parade) 

 
California 

 
Universal Included 

 
All 

 
None Not more than 

$100 None None No None specified 

Colorado Age-specific Yes 
 

Younger than 18 
 

None 
$100 

(plus $15 
surcharge) 

Not 
specified None Yes None specified 

 
Connecticut 

 
Age-specific Yes 

 
Younger than 18 

 
None Not less than 

$90 None None 
Yes unless 

windscreen/ 
windshield 

None specified 

 
Delaware 

 
Age-specific No 

 
Younger than 19 

 
None $25-$115 Not 

specified None Yes None specified 

                                                           
1 A State law requiring all motorcycle operators and passengers to wear helmets is considered to be a universal law. Other State laws require operators and/or passengers of a certain age, 
e.g., under 18, to wear helmets. This is indicated as Age-specific. Some State laws include additional restrictions – such restrictions are indicated in this column, with footnotes to provide 
specific details.   
2 While the sanctions shown are for the first offense, some States provide for greater sanctions for the second and/or subsequent offenses for not wearing a motorcycle helmet. 
3 Where “Included” is listed, this means the standard includes but is not limited to FMVSS 218. 
4 While Alabama’s law does not specifically authorize licensing action for this offense, an offender may be subject to such action.   
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State 
Type of 

Helmet Use 
Law1 

Helmet Use Requirements Sanctions for Failure to Use a Helmet 
1st Offense 2 Is Eye 

Protection 
Required? 

Passenger 
Restrictions Meets 

FMVSS 2183 Age Range Exemptions Fine Points Jail 

 
District of 
Columbia 

 

Universal Included All None $25 None None Yes None specified 

Florida 
Age and 

insurance-
specific5 

Yes Younger than 21 
Persons age ≥16 in enclosed 

cabs or on a smaller 
motorcycle with speed 
capability of ≤ 30 mph 

$30 
(plus $18 court 

costs) 

Not 
specified None Yes None specified 

Georgia Universal Yes All 

Persons riding in enclosed 
cabs or carts, or motorcycles 

with 3 wheels used for 
agricultural purposes 

Not more than 
$1000 

Not 
specified 

Not more 
than 12 
months 

Yes unless 
windshield None specified 

Hawaii Age-specific No Younger than 18 

Persons riding in 3 wheeled 
motorcycles with full-
bodied enclosed cab, 
electric motor & seat 
belt/restrain system 

Not more than 
$1000 

Not 
specified None 

Yes unless 
windscreen/ 
windshield 

No child under 
the age of 76 

Idaho Age-specific Yes 
 

Younger than 18 
 

None Not more than 
$100 No None No None specified 

Illinois None N/A 
 

N/A 
 

N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes None specified 

Indiana Age-specific Yes 
 

Younger than 18 
 

None Not more than 
$500 4 points None Yes None specified 

Iowa None N/A 
 

N/A 
 

N/A N/A N/A N/A No None specified 

 
Kansas 

 
Age-specific Included Younger than 18 

Persons riding within an 
enclosed cab, golf cart or 

any cargo-type vehicle with 
3 wheels 

Not more than 
$500 

Not 
specified None Yes unless 

windscreen None specified 

                                                           
5 A person who is over 21 years old may operate or ride on a motorcycle without protective headgear provided the person has at least $10,000 in medical benefits for any injuries sustained as 
a result of a crash while riding on such a motor vehicle.   
6 However, if such motorcycle or motor scooter has 3 wheels, is powered by an electric motor, has a full-bodied enclosed cab, and seat belt/child restraint systems in use, then a child under 
the age of 7 may be a passenger. 
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State 
Type of 

Helmet Use 
Law1 

Helmet Use Requirements Sanctions for Failure to Use a Helmet 
1st Offense 2 Is Eye 

Protection 
Required? 

Passenger 
Restrictions Meets 

FMVSS 2183 Age Range Exemptions Fine Points Jail 

 
Kentucky 

 

Age and 
experience-

specific7 
Yes Younger than 21 None $20-$100 Not 

specified None Yes None specified 

 
Louisiana 

 
Universal No All 

Persons riding autocycles 
with roofs; persons riding in 

a parade or other public 
exhibition 

$50 Not 
specified None Yes unless 

windshield 

A child must be ≥ 
5 yrs, and when 
riding in a car, 

must not be 
required to ride in  
a child safety seat 

 
Maine 

 

Age and 
experience-

specific8 
Included Younger than 18 None $25-$500 No None No None specified 

 
Maryland 

 
Universal Yes 

 
All 

 

Persons riding in enclosed 
cabs 

Not more than 
$500 No None Yes unless 

windscreen None specified 

Massachusetts Universal No 
 

All 
 

None Not more than 
$35 

Not 
specified None 

Yes unless 
windshield/ 
windscreen 

None specified 

Michigan 

Age, 
insurance- and 

experience-
specific 

No 
 

Younger than 21 
 

None Not more than 
$100 No 

Not more 
than  

90 days 

Yes unless 
windshield 

Helmets optional 
if over 21 and has 
≥$20k insurance 

Minnesota 
Age and 

experience-
specific9 

No Younger than 18 
Persons participating in a 

parade; persons in an 
enclosed cab 

Not more than 
$300 

Not 
specified None Yes 

Passenger’s feet 
must reach the 

footrests 

Mississippi Universal No 
 

All 
 

None Not more than 
$100 

Not 
specified 

Not more 
than 10 

days 
No None specified 

 
Missouri 

 
Universal Yes All None Not more than 

$25 No None No None specified 

                                                           
7 Any operator, regardless of age, who possesses a motorcycle instruction permit, must wear a helmet. Any operator, regardless of age, who possesses a motorcycle operator’s permit for less 
than 1 year, must wear a helmet. 
8 Any operator, regardless of age, operating under a learner's permit or within 1 year of successfully completing a driving test, must wear a helmet; any passenger of an operator required to 
wear a helmet must also wear a helmet. 
9 No person with a two-wheeled instruction permit shall drive a motorcycle without wearing State-approved protective headgear. 
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State 
Type of 

Helmet Use 
Law1 

Helmet Use Requirements Sanctions for Failure to Use a Helmet 
1st Offense 2 Is Eye 

Protection 
Required? 

Passenger 
Restrictions Meets 

FMVSS 2183 Age Range Exemptions Fine Points Jail 

Montana Age-specific Yes Younger than 18 None $5 Not 
specified None No 

During first 6 
months, a 

restricted licensee 
may not operate 
with a passenger 

< 18 yrs 

Nebraska Universal Yes 
 

All 
 

 
None $50 No None No None specified 

Nevada Universal Yes All 
Persons participating in a 

parade; persons in an 
enclosed cab 

Not more than 
$1000 2  points 

Not more 
than 6 
months 

Yes unless 
windscreen None specified 

New 
Hampshire None10 N/A N/A N/A N/A Not 

specified None 
Yes unless 
windshield/ 
windscreen 

None specified 

New Jersey Universal Yes All None $50-$100 Not 
specified None Yes unless 

windscreen None specified 

New Mexico Age-specific No Younger than 18 None Not more than 
$300 

Not 
specified 

Not more 
than 90 

days 

Yes unless 
windshield None specified 

New York Universal Yes All Persons riding in a parade or 
other public exhibition 

Not more than 
$100 

Not 
specified 

Not more 
than 30 

days 
Yes None specified 

North Carolina Universal Yes All None 
$25.50 

(plus court 
costs) 

No None No None specified 

North Dakota Age-specific No Younger than 18 Persons riding in an 
enclosed cab or golf cart 

Not more than 
$500 2 points None No None specified 

Ohio 
Age and 

experience-
specific11 

Yes Younger than 18 None Not more than 
$150 No None Yes None specified 

                                                           
10 Each motorcycle rider education student shall wear a helmet meeting FMVSS 218 requirements. A fine of not more than $1,000 is the sanction for this statute. Note: NH ST § 265:122 I 
states that no person under the age of 18 may drive or ride upon a motorcycle unless the person wears State-approved protective headgear. However, NH ST § 265:122 III states that “If 
Federal law is altered so that the mandatory wearing of protective headgear on motorcycles by persons less than 18 years of age is not required as a condition to the receipt by the State of 
any Federal funds, paragraphs I ...shall be void.” Given that the mandatory wearing of protective headgear on motorcycles by people less than 18 is not currently required as a condition to 
the receipt of state or Federal funds, for practical purposes protective headgear for motorcycle drivers or passengers is not mandatory.   
11No person, regardless of age, who holds a novice motorcycle operator’s license, shall operate or be a passenger on a motorcycle unless wearing an approved helmet.  Additionally, any 
passenger shall wear an approved helmet if the operator is under the age of 18 or holds a novice motorcycle operator’s license.  
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State 
Type of 

Helmet Use 
Law1 

Helmet Use Requirements Sanctions for Failure to Use a Helmet 
1st Offense 2 Is Eye 

Protection 
Required? 

Passenger 
Restrictions Meets 

FMVSS 2183 Age Range Exemptions Fine Points Jail 

Oklahoma Age-specific Yes Younger than 18 None $5-$500 Not 
specified 

Not more 
than 10 

days 

Yes unless 
windshield 

No driver under 
age 16 shall 
transport any 

passenger 

Oregon Universal No All 

Persons riding in an 
enclosed cab or a vehicle 

with 3 wheels at a speed of 
< 15 mph  

Not more than 
$90 

Not 
specified None No None specified 

Pennsylvania 

Age, 
experience and 

training 
specific12 

No Younger than 21 
An operator or occupant of 

a 3-wheeled motorcycle 
with an enclosed cab  

$25 Not 
specified None Yes None specified 

Puerto Rico Universal No All None $50 Not 
specified None Yes unless 

windshield None specified 

Rhode Island 
Age and 

experience-
specific13 

No Younger than 21 None $85 Not 
specified None Yes None specified 

South Carolina Age-specific No 
 

Younger than 21 
 

None Not more than 
$100 

Not 
specified 

Not more 
than 30 

days 

Yes unless 
windscreen None specified 

South Dakota Age-specific Yes Younger than 18 Persons riding in an 
enclosed cab 

Not more than 
$500 

Not 
specified 

Not more 
than 30 

days 

Yes unless 
windscreen None specified 

Tennessee Universal Included All 

Persons riding in an 
enclosed cab & golf carts; 

persons age ≥ 18 riding in a 
parade not faster than 30 

mph; fully enclosed 
motorcycles with 3 wheels 

Not more than 
$50 

Not 
specified 

Not more 
than 30 

days 

Yes unless 
windshield None specified 

                                                           
12 Persons ≥21 years who have completed a motorcycle rider safety course and persons ≥ 21 who have been licensed to operate a motorcycle for at least 2 full calendar years are not required 
to wear helmets. Passengers of motorcycle operators exempt from the helmet requirement are also exempt.   
13 A person, regardless of age, who has not been licensed for more than 1 year, must wear a helmet. Any passenger, regardless of age, must wear a helmet. 
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State 
Type of 

Helmet Use 
Law1 

Helmet Use Requirements Sanctions for Failure to Use a Helmet 
1st Offense 2 Is Eye 

Protection 
Required? 

Passenger 
Restrictions Meets 

FMVSS 2183 Age Range Exemptions Fine Points Jail 

Texas 
Age, insurance, 

and training-
specific14 

Yes Younger than 21 None $10-$50 Not 
specified None No 

Passenger must 
be at least 5 yrs 
old unless riding 

in an attached 
sidecar 

Utah Age-specific Yes Younger than 18 Persons riding in an 
enclosed cab 

Not more than 
$750 

Not 
specified 

Not more 
than 90 

days 
No None specified 

Vermont Universal Yes All None Not more than 
$100 

Not 
specified No 

Yes unless 
windshield/ 
windscreen 

None specified 

Virginia Universal No All 

Persons riding a motorcycle 
with wheels 8” or less in 

diameter or 3 wheels with 
fixed roofs, windshields & 
enclosed bodies; persons 

riding in a parade ≤ 15 mph 

Not more than 
$250 

Not 
specified No Yes unless 

windshield None specified 

Washington Universal Yes All None 

$42 
(plus penalties 
of $10, $5, and 

$2) 

Not 
specified No Yes unless 

windshield 

Passenger must 
be at least 5 yrs 

old 

West Virginia Universal No 
 

All 
 

None Not more than 
$100 

Not 
specified 

Not more 
than 10 

days 

Yes unless 
windshield/ 
windscreen 

None specified 

Wisconsin Age-specific Yes 
 

Younger than 18 
 

None $10-$200 No None Yes None specified 

Wyoming Age-specific No Younger than 18 
Persons riding in enclosed 

cabs or on mopeds; persons 
riding in a parade 

Not more than 
$200 

Not 
specified 

Not more 
than 20 

days 
No None specified 

 
 
This publication is distributed by the U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), in the interest of 
information exchange.  The opinions, findings, and conclusions expressed in this publication are those of the author and not necessarily those of the 
Department of Transportation or NHTSA.  The United States Government assumes no liability for its content or use thereof.   

                                                           
14 A person≥ 21 who has successfully completed a motorcycle safety course or is covered by health insurance providing $10,000 in benefits is not required to wear a helmet. 
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